Skip to content

Heinrich Boll Cottage Residency

August 16, 2010


I am back from Achill after a stay in the Heinrich Boll Cottage.

I don’t know quite what my expectations were, but I was taken aback at how beautiful the island is. It has an odd atmosphere – it didn’t feel like Ireland to me.

The house was beautiful too and I found it conducive to work. There are two studies and a big sitting room/kitchen area so you are spoilt for work spaces.

It is a quiet place and you have to live without internet if you go there but I found myself falling into a different rhythm which was really creative. I even got into painting landscape which I haven’t done for years.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Niamh permalink
    August 17, 2010 6:34 am

    Sounds great. Those landscapes look fab alright.

  2. August 17, 2010 3:40 pm

    How long did you stay David? How did you land the residency? And lets see them there paintings 🙂

  3. August 17, 2010 4:21 pm

    The island was really stunning, Niamh. I’d been told it all depended on getting good weather and I was fortunate.

    Hi Padhraig, well, you basically apply for a residency – there is a website and you send them your details and some work samples. I was there for 2 weeks. As well as anything else, it was one of the best breaks I’ve had for a long time. I’d thoroughly recommend it!

    I might post a painting or two at some point.

  4. August 19, 2010 9:23 pm

    the photos are stunning – i found it very interesting that it didn’t feel like ireland, did that feel liminal in some way? Would love to see the paintings too!

  5. August 20, 2010 10:35 am

    Hi Niamh,

    Liminal is a very good word, actually. You do feel on the edge of somewhere. It’s all cloud shadow and mountain. I will get around to putting some paintings up – am a bit scattered since I came back to the modern world! I think I enjoyed doing them more than anyone will enjoy seeing them!

Leave a Reply

