Skip to content

Revolving Signposts

April 15, 2011

Looking forward to Ali Smith’s new novel, There but for the, due on the 2nd of June. Loved The Accidental.

This is a year of re-reads for me – am enjoying Lydia Davis’s translation of Madame Bovary. I almost never find time for re-reads, but this year I’m almost tempted to let re-reads dominate as it’s good to return to the books you’ve loved enough to keep on your shelves as favourites.

There’s a new Kate Bush album (sort of) to look forward to, Director’s Cut . I’m not sure yet about the single, Deeper Understanding, but some of the previews sound intriguing. Apparently there is a ‘proper’ album on the boil and scheduled – very tentatively – for either later this year or sometime next year.

A few nice things – a story highly commended in the Inktears competition and a poem published in the very nicely-produced The Cathach, the link to The Cathach is here

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2011 5:21 pm

    I must admit I am not a great on re-reads myself, but I have been thinking lately about visiting some works that I read a long time back and see if I am still as impressed as I was first time around. Great news again on Inktears competition (I love the name of it), and being published in The Cathach. Would you mind if I sent out a mail to the group about it, if you prefer not that’s no problem. Well done again.

  2. April 15, 2011 6:29 pm

    Thanks Louise. Yes re-reads do tend to be deferred. I want to do some for the same reason you mentioned. I don’t have any problem with the group email – that would be great!

Leave a Reply

